How Old Do You Have To Be To Buy CBD?
Nov 01, 2022
As interest grows across the country on CBD's health and wellness benefits, it's important to note that age restrictions vary from state to state. Depending on where you live, that could range from 18-21 years old, and it also depends on the product type.
Just like buying alcohol or tobacco, States are required by federal law to follow age restrictions. Still, CBD is a different animal altogether and has been left to each state to implement rules and guidelines. With more and more brick-and-mortar stores carrying products made with CBD, the restrictions still apply to flash the ID before a sale is made.
Here at Colorado Hemp Honey, even though we live and work and produce our products in a State that is hemp-forward, our company follows the Colorado State law that an individual must be over 18 years of age or older to legally purchase CBD products. That's why we have a question about age when accessing our site.
Even though CBD manufacturing is unregulated, the FDA has made the following statement regarding age requirements: "If any category of CBD is to be age-restricted, only smokable flower or vaping oils should be sold only to legal adults (18+). However, considering its medical benefit, other forms of CBD (cremes, oils, topicals, edibles, etc.) should not be age-restricted."
What is CBD?
CBD is a compound found in the cannabis or marijuana plant. Unlike marijuana, CBD is extracted from the plant and is considered hemp as it doesn't contain tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the psychoactive ingredients that produces a high. CBD are the cannabinoids found in the hemp plant and are usually extracted and formulated into an oil.
We grow our own hemp plants on the farm at Colorado Hemp Honey. That means we test our plants for THC; if they are below .03% total THC, they are considered hemp.
Is CBD Legal?
Thanks to the 2018 Farm Bill, all CBD is, in fact, federally legal nationwide. It's up to each state to regulate age restrictions for purchase, and some States mandate 18 years of age, while others indicate 21 years of age.
The federal government has not implemented an age restriction nationwide, meaning everyone can legally purchase CBD in the U.S. But not so fast for someone who is 16 years old and wants to get their hands on CBD. The federal government relies on each state to regulate CBD's purchase age, and that ruling puts each state in charge of imposing its own rules.
Currently, there are many states who still outlaw CBD, such as Alabama, and then there are certain states who have no age restrictions, like Arkansas, Arizona, Iowa, Nebraska, Missouri, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. While a majority of the country, including Colorado, more than 30+ states require CBD purchasers to be over 18 years of age, and more than half a dozen require to be over the age of 21.
What kind of products have CBD in them?
At Colorado Hemp Honey, we make our products with hemp and honey and add unique flavors to enhance the overall taste experience. You can find CBD and hemp in various products, from skincare to oil tinctures to chocolate and confections. CBD has become a mainstream product that people are still getting to know. At Colorado Hemp Honey, we are proud to be a part of the innovation that has brought CBD to the forefront of health and wellness options and look to be a part of the conversation in the future.
If you have any additional questions or concerns regarding CBD and Hemp, please get in touch with us or read our FAQ for more information.